Sixty-Second COMMENCEMENT



Methodist Theological School in Ohio

Saturday, May 18, 2024 11 a.m. Dickinson Courtyard

ORDER OF EVENTS

Prelude		The Classic Brass Quintet
* Processional	"Trumpet Voluntary"	Clarke
Welcome and In	vocation	President Jay Rundell
* Hymn	"Praise the Source of Faith and Verse 1	Learning" See program
Greeting		Board of Trustees Chair Cyndy Garn
Introduction of	the Speaker	President Rundell
Address		Bishop Gregory V. Palmer
* Hymn	"Praise the Source of Faith and Verse 2	Learning"
Conferring of D	egrees on the Class of 2024 an	President Rundell d Dean Valerie Bridgeman
* Hymn	"Praise the Source of Faith and Verse 3	Learning"
Presentation of I	Diplomas President Rundell	and Dean Bridgeman
* Hymn	"Praise the Source of Faith and Verse 4	C
Closing Comme	ents and Benediction	President Rundell
* Recessional	"Rondeaux"	Mouret

* You are invited to rise in body or spirit.

THE CLASS OF 2024

The following list of graduates is tentative. Degrees are conferred only to those candidates who have successfully completed all requirements.

Concentrations and specializations are noted under individual graduates' names.

[†] Identifies graduates receiving dual degrees.

DEGREE CANDIDATES

Doctor of Ministry

Sean Patrick Barrett Leadership for Transformational Change Project: Small Group Ministry to Navigate a Liminal Space

Jennifer Lynne Eastman Hinkle Leadership for Transformational Change Project: The Impact of Play on Vocational Identity and Spiritual Well-Being in Clergy

Edward K. Lewis Sr. Leadership for Transformational Change Project: The Impact of White Christian Religious Supremacy upon the Bronzeville Community

Amy Avery Weese Leadership for Transformational Change Project: Navigating the Transition from Shame to Vulnerability: A Qualitative Study of Clients' Experiences

Master of Arts in Counseling Ministries Pastoral Care and Counseling Track

Rae Hamilton

Master of Arts in Practical Theology

Heather Ann Neal Bennett *Ecology and Justice* Carolyn Sarah Kwon Yi Rao

Master of Arts in Social Justice

Mackalyn Grace Figgins [†]

Nicole Rae Guthrie Ingrid Janse-Wood

Master of Theological Studies

Timothy Michael Wood Theological Studies

Master of Divinity

Adam Lawrence Barborich Biblical Languages and Texts Laura Ann Bergman Chaplaincy Kathryn Shelby Bouldin Robert Dean Cole Nichole Lee Fewell Mackalyn Grace Figgins [†] Melissa Greenleaf Flinn David Alan Hamer Jeffrey John Hodge Victoria Lambert *Chaplaincy Ecology and Justice* Bonnie Joy Massey *Chaplaincy Interreligious Contexts* Carla E. Miner Douglas A. Pummell Vincent Alexander Slocum Martina L. Thompson

All are invited to a reception in Dunn Dining Hall following the ceremony.

SENIOR AWARDS Announced at Closing Convocation May 7, 2024

Baccalaureate Speaker Bishop Judith Craig Prize in Christian Education Kathryn Shelby Bouldin Fellowship Seminarian Award Gindlesperger Bible Award Hoyt Hickman Award Pastoral Counseling Service and Achievement Award Servant Leader Award C. Everett and Mary Milburn Tilson Social Justice Grant David Wilcox Leadership Award

Mackalyn Grace Figgins Mackalyn Grace Figgins Melissa Greenleaf Flinn Mackalyn Grace Figgins Rae Hamilton

Yi Rao Kathryn Shelby Bouldin

> David Alan Hamer and Victoria Lambert **Bonnie Joy Massey**

Ronald L. Williams Book Prize in Theology and Ethics

COMMENCEMENT SPEAKER

Bishop Gregory V. Palmer has served as episcopal leader of the West Ohio Conference of the United Methodist Church since 2012. Elected to the episcopacy in 2000, he served in Iowa for eight years and Illinois for four years before coming to West Ohio.

Bishop Palmer, a Philadelphia native, earned his Master of Divinity degree from Duke Divinity School and his undergraduate degree from George Washington University. He served congregations in northestern Ohio and was superintendent of the Youngstown District of the East Ohio Conference.

He served as president of the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry from 2004 to 2008 and president of the Council of Bishops from 2008 to 2010. He has been an MTSO trustee since 2012.

COMMENCEMENT MARSHALS

Faculty Marshal: Joon-Sik Park, Professor in the E. Stanley Jones Chair of World Evangelism

Student Marshals: Catherine Heck and Christopher Scoby

PRAISE THE SOURCE OF FAITH AND LEARNING

Praise the source of faith and learning that has sparked and stoked the mind with a passion for discerning how the world has been designed. Let the sense of wonder flowing from the wonders we survey keep our faith forever growing and renew our need to pray:

God of wisdom, we acknowledge that our science and our art and the breadth of human knowledge only partial truth impart. Far beyond our calculation lies a depth we cannot sound where your purpose for creation and the pulse of life are found.

May our faith redeem the blunder of believing that our thought has displaced the grounds for wonder which the ancient prophets taught. May our learning curb the error which unthinking faith can breed lest we justify some terror with an antiquated creed.

As two currents in a river fight each other's undertow till converging they deliver one coherent steady flow, blend, O God, our faith and learning till they carve a single course, till they join as one, returning praise and thanks to you, their Source.

WORDS: Thomas H. Troeger MUSIC: Rowland H. Prichard

Words © 1987 Oxford University Press Used by permission. CCLI license: 1371938